Advertisements
RSS

Twitter by the numbers

21 Mar

  • Dorsey’s Twitter account @jack automatically sent out the first tweet, ‘just setting up my twttr,’ on 21 March 2006 and Dorsey followed it up with the first ‘human-generated’ tweet ‘inviting coworkers’.
  • Twitter has more than 200m registered users sending more than 140m tweets a day.
  • Last year, Twitter users sent 25bn tweets and the company added more than 100 million new registered accounts. It has averaged 460,000 new accounts per day over the past month.
  • Pop star Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) has the most Twitter followers with 8.78m followed by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) with 8.13m million, Britney Spears (@britneyspears) with 7.12m, Barack Obama (@barackobama) with 6.97m and Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) with 6.73m.
  • Actor Charlie Sheen (@charliesheen) was the fastest to one million followers, picking them up in just 24 hours.
  • The hashtag (#) feature on Twitter which groups tweets by subject debuted in August 2007, proposed by a user.
  • In October 2009, Google and Microsoft began integrating tweets into their search products.
  • Twitter has 400 employees and is adding workers almost weekly.
  • Twitter is based in San Francisco, with additional employees in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles and Washington.
  • Twitter was incorporated in April 2007; it was co-founded by Biz Stone, Evan Williams and Jack Dorsey – @biz, @ev and @jack.
  • The initial Twitter logo was created by Stone, a former graphic designer.
  • Twitter chief executive Dick Costolo is a former improvisational comedian.
Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in General

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: